I love my Gringo Companion!

Hola Todos! 

It was a fun first week with my new gringo companion! He is awesome. His name is Elder Millerd! He is from Albany, Georgia! This is another companion for me from Georgia. So I will most likely be taking a trip to Georgia after my mission!  He actually lives 20 or 30 minutes from Albany and grew up on a little farm. He is super calm and humble and quiet. It’s awesome! He speaks very little Spanish, which is a challenge because I need to do all of the teaching. But he is learning a lot and understanding more. He is getting more confident. He was a huge camper and Boy Scouter before his mission. He liked hunting and backpacking and outdoor activities. So we have a good amount in common. It was really interesting this week. I had to handle most of the missionary work. It wasn’t hard but just different. 

We had some funny experiences doing contacts! My companion is only able to say: “Hi! How are you? We are missionaries. Can we share a message with you?” He says the same words for every contact we approach. But miraculously it works! Like 80% of the time people say yes and two times people let us in without any problem. I was laughing and shaking my head because I couldn’t believe that his approach was working. When I was a new missionary, about 10% of the time people would say “yes” to my request to share the gospel and almost never let me in. So I am going to apply some of his techniques! Ha! 

Also this week I had a fun experience with a baptismal interview in my old sector in Los Conquistadores. The craziest part was that I conducted the interview for a young woman that had lost her membership record. When I was in the area a year ago, she helped us visit people and she even did Temple Baptisms with one of the recent converts. But then somehow her records were lost and she had to get baptized again. It was really weird. She was baptized when she was 8 and is 19 now. I have never heard of something like this before. 

In church yesterday in one of the talks a member said something really cool. He said “Hijo de tigre nace rayado” which means a tiger’s baby is born with stripes. He compared this to how as children of God we have the potential to become like him someday. We are created in His likeness and share His characteristics. It was an awesome talk. That was the week. Time is flying!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

