My Last Interview With My Mission President

Hola Todos! 

We had a great week. Some cool news! Sandra Vega and Jose Gonzalez got baptized! I taught them both in my last area and Sandra is the one that told me that she wanted me to baptize her on my last night in that area. So that is super cool that I saw some fruits from my labors there. 

Also this week, we had a funny lesson with a less active member. She is a really good friend of ours so we can be pretty bold with her. She likes to smoke but likes reading the Book of Mormon also. We read a little about the “iron rod” in 1st Nephi. We talked about how the iron rod is symbolic of the scriptures. So she told us that she is holding onto the rod well because she reads the scriptures pretty faithfully. Then my companion replied, “yeah, but you can’t have one hand on the rod and a cigarette in the other hand. It doesn’t work like that.” It was really funny at the time. 

Church on Sunday was awesome. This ward is really well run. I had my last interview on Monday with my mission president. He leaves before the next cycle of interviews. It was crazy and weird because my first day in Chile feels like it was yesterday. I remember sitting in his office with him when he first interviewed me. A lot has happened since that day and I realized that I have changed a great deal. It was great to reflect on this. His last words of advice pertained to the scripture in Alma 37 that states  “O, remember, my son, and learn wisdom in thy youth; yea, learn in thy youth to keep the commandments of God.” 

Today was awesome because in the morning we went to a wedding!! One of our investigators named Ivan Soto got married to his wife who is a member. So now he will be getting baptized this Sunday, which is exciting. He was one of those eternal investigators that never made the decision to get married so that he could get baptized but he finally did it. The wedding was interesting to witness. We went to a city building and they handled all of the paperwork and then there was a little ceremony where a guy said some things and then they signed the papers. They are a great family and Ivan is going to be a great member. 

Today we bought some new ties and that’s about it! 

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

