Loving my mission!

Hola todos! 

This week was awesome! I love being with 2 zone leaders. I am in training to become a leader. My position as the third companion to the zone leaders is called “young promising missionary.” Our mission president created a few new positions in the structure of mission leadership. The funny thing is that I am not a young missionary. All of the other missionaries in my position have about 6 months in the mission. But my situation is unusual because I was on Easter Island for so long that it delayed me in regards to moving up into mission leadership roles! I am not complaining though, hahaha. I love learning and working with good missionaries. I learn how to be a better person and a better missionary. 

Here are some experiences from this week. I will explain a little bit more about my current companions. Elder Alvarez was actually a gangster before getting baptized in Ecuador! He has a big tattoo on his chest of a crown because his gang was called the “Latin Kings”. Crazy, right?! But he has an amazingly cool conversion story that he shared with me. It is filled with miracles and a lot of hard challenges that he had to face and overcome. He is an amazing missionary. He actually has the most baptisms out of any missionary in the mission. He is like one of the “sons of Mosiah” in the Book of Mormon. Elder Vosper is the clown of the group. He is very energetic and a goofball (in the words of Arlin, my Dad). He makes us laugh all day though which is great. Speaking of funny, we had lunch one day this week with a lady in our branch. She has one big front tooth and that is it! hahaha. I am grateful my parents taught me to keep my teeth clean! The food was really good though. 

We attended a Conference this last week with an Area Seventy. This Area Seventy is the same one that spoke and presided at the Stake Conference a couple weeks ago in my other sector. His name is Elder Resek. The conference was so great! One important thing that he said was that success in the mission is when you can say to the Mission President and Stake President in your last interviews that you didn’t hold anything back and you “left it all out on the field.” It was inspiring to hear Elder Resek and his advice. 

The other funny experience this week happened yesterday in church. Instead of playing the piano like I did before, they made me conduct the music. I think it is because nobody else could. So I had to give the tone and basically sing a solo for all of the hymns in front of the branch! And that is because nobody sings! It was such a funny experience! 

I would like to share a scripture that has really impacted me while on my mission. It is found in 1 Nephi 16. Verse 10 states “And it came to pass that as my father arose in the morning, and went forth to the tent door, to his great astonishment he beheld upon the ground a round ball of curious workmanship; and it was of fine brass. And within the ball were two spindles; and the one pointed the way whither we should go into the wilderness. 16 And we did follow the directions of the ball, which led us in the more fertile parts of the wilderness.  28 And it came to pass that I, Nephi, beheld the pointers which were in the ball, that they did work according to the faith and diligence and heed which we did give unto them.” The Liahona is the influence of the Holy Ghost which leads us to the most fertile parts of the land. Those parts of the land are the sectors that every missionary is assigned to. The fertile parts are where the prepared people that are ready to hear the gospel can be found. The Liahona or guidance from the Holy Ghost works according to our faith and diligence. This faith requires that we approach contacts even though we might be intimidated or scared. We need the kind of diligence that keeps us working even when we are tired and keeps us focused on the direction and inspiration derived from the scriptures, the Preach my Gospel manual for missionaries, the mission plan, and the area book.   

That is it for this week. 

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

