Elder Neser Says Good-bye to Easter Island

Como Estan?!?  

Well I am back in Santiago! My flight was good. It was sad saying goodbye to everyone on the island. The time went by so fast! I couldn’t believe it when I boarded the plane. I was on Easter Island for about 6 months but it didn’t feel like it. It was also really weird getting off the plane in Santiago and getting picked up and driven to the mission office. As you can imagine, Santiago is very different than Easter Island. It felt like I was starting another mission. 

I am in Conchali now. My companion is Elder Muñoz and he is from Chile. He actually is from Santiago. His actual mission call is for Venezuela and he is waiting for his visa. There are a lot of Chilean missionaries in the mission right now also waiting for visas. Elder Munoz is awesome! He has only been a missionary for a short time. We live with two other missionaries. One of them is a really good friend from the MTC. His name is Elder Boelter. We were in the same district in the MTC and also lived together in the MTC. It is super fun living together again. He is a district leader and trainer. 

I have had some funny things happen to me already because I need to adjust to living in Santiago again. Many of these things are really minor. For example, today when we got in a taxi I sat in the front seat and started talking to the driver and he got really irritated and told me to put my seat belt on. This is something I haven’t done in a long time because on Easter Island the taxis don’t even have seat belts!! I also randomly say things in “Rapa Nui” and no one understands me. And coming from super humid island weather to super dry Santiago weather is a change. I have experienced some allergies and my lips are chapped a lot but the change is not that bad. I am in many ways excited to be back in Santiago.

I am the senior companion for the first time! It is fun. I have had so many great companions that have taught me how to do missionary work well. So I am following their examples as a senior companion. Everyone in the ward and all of the missionaries ask me about how it was on the island. I try not to talk about it a lot!! I don’t want to make them jealous . . . ha! My new ward is great. It is weird just going to church and sitting and listening. I AM SO USED TO DOING EVERYTHING. I did bear my testimony in the meeting. Basically everything is just much bigger here and there are obviously way more people which is good because there are so many people to talk to and missionaries here are bound to find someone to teach. At the end of my experience on the island, it felt like I knew pretty much everyone. I loved going to the huge Wal-Mart today and buying groceries because there were so many products and it was all three times cheaper than on Easter Island! That is all for this week!! 

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

