IT IS ALMOST EASTER AND ELDER NESER IS HEADED FOR EASTER ISLAND!!!

Hola family! 

How’s it going! I have some crazy big news that will top last week’s news! You probably remember there are two islands in my mission…. Well, Saturday night, the mission president called me and told me: “Elder Neser, you’re going to have a companionship change on Monday to “Renca 2” and you will be with Elder Roberts (my companion from the MTC) for a week. But I was about to learn there was more to the plan. The mission president went on to say: “At the end of the week Elder Roberts is going to Robinson Crusoe Island with Elder Evans (my trainer). Then the next week you will be going to EASTER ISLAND!!!!!” I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! I am going to Easter Island! 

How crazy is that? Do you think I am a little excited?? I couldn’t believe it! I told the president:  “NO WAY!” He said: “YES WAY!” It was so insane! So in about two weeks, I am going to fly alone to Easter Island in a small seven-seat jet. The flight will take about 4-5 hours. (like flying to Hawaii from Orange County) The elder that will be my companion there just left on Thursday to fly there to replace one of the elders that is already out there. He will get to know the island a little then I will fly out alone and replace the elder that is out there with him now. The mission president said I will be there for three months at least and it could be more. HOW CRAZY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going to Easter Island! 

I thought that I was dreaming when the mission president told me. I still can’t believe it. I really believe that God was preparing me for this to happen. I don’t really know very much else about when I leave or any other details but I am super excited! As missionaries, we all joke and dream about being sent to Easter Island but now it is really happening to me. Not very many elders are sent there. Easter Island is one of the great wonders of the world because of the Moai statues found there. Moai statues are monolithic human figures carved by the Rapa Nui people of Easter Island between the years 1250-1500. The big mystery about these statues is how they were carved and then moved. Engineers have studied these statues and can only guess as to how the Rapa Nui moved such extremely heavy pieces of carved rock. On Easter Island, they speak both Spanish and an eastern Polynesian language called Rapa Nui! It will be insane to learn another language. This is like I am going to a new mission because it will be so different from Santiago. What do you think about that? After I was done talking with the mission president on the phone, I just started jumping and running around the house and screaming! I was so excited! I heard I will probably be eating a lot of fish. I don’t know what else to say. I have some stories from the week but they pale in comparison to this news. The new sector I am in for the next two weeks is right next to the airport. I am so freaking out. I also saw my trainer Elder Evans today and we are like best friends. As I mentioned, he is headed to Robinson Crusoe Island. It was so cool to see him! Because we worked so hard together and put forth so much effort in our area, I think we are both receiving blessings. I also think that we gained a lot of trust from the mission president. I am just so excited and can’t wait to leave!!!!!!!!! That is it for this week.

Elder Neser

 

Leave a Reply

