Max’s 9/26/2012 Email

HOLA Familia y Amigos!

Las semanas son muy rápido. No creo que sea día de preparación ya! Se extraño a ustedes mucho! Es muy divertido y espiritual en el CCM (MTC). Mi español está llegando a ser mas bueno. Mi compañero y yo podemos ensenar las lecciones y hablar con los maestros bien. El don de lenguas es muy interesante y real. Estoy agradecido para esta cosa. Feliz Cumpleanos a Lauren Neser!

Well there is my Spanish blurb. I am still not really good at Spanish, but hopefully some of you Spanish speakers can understand! I have learned some cool Chilean slang words. I will have to share those with you next time.  It’s amazing we are already past the one month mark. The time has just flown! I only have about 3.5 weeks left in the MTC. I am scheduled to leave on the 18th of October, but it is very possible it could be the next week.

We are all excited to go to Chile and get into the full missionary mode. I am so excited to go to a foreign country and help the people there. Thank you so much Mom, Dad, Nic, Lauren, and Chloe for the” Dear Elder” letters! They were so fun to read and it is great to hear about how life is treating you.

So let me tell you a little bit about my week. I got a haircut on my last P-day. It was a very interesting experience. The MTC Hair Salon for missionaries is notorious for giving really bad hair cuts! So they sat me down in the chair and the lady grabbed the clippers and started going at it. After starting the cut she asked me how I wanted it to look! I told her to just shorten it. I had no choice because she had already started cutting it! They are not very gentle with your head either. My companion had a couple of cuts on the back of his neck after he was done – Ha!  After I was done, the lady told me my hair looked very nice, which gave me some relief. My hair actually turned out pretty good, but my companion’s hair got pretty messed up.

I played sand volleyball a couple times this week, which was really fun! They have sand volleyball courts up by the temple.

One night this week I talked in my sleep in Spanish! My companion hears me sleep talk all the time, but now I do it in Spanish which is awesome! In our district we grade ourselves on a scale from one to five on how mush Spanish we spoke throughout the day. I definitely got a five on that day because I spoke Spanish even when I was sleeping!

We got to watch the Brigham City Temple dedication which was awesome! Also, that day an elder in my district, whose girlfriend goes to BYU, shipped him some quesadillas from Taco Bell and they were so good! You can’t beat a temple dedication and Taco Bell tacos all in one day!

We pulled an awesome prank on my companion! Some guys from my district got the address of my companion’s girlfriend and wrote her just jokingly and said that they would love to date her when they get home from their missions. They told her it was a joke in the letters and they didn’t expect anything to come from it. We thought maybe she would write him telling him that some weird Elders wrote her. We waited a couple days then on Saturday the mail came and my companion saw that two letters came and they went to other Elders in the district! He freaked out! We were all dying laughing. I will cut to the good part of the story. He read the letters and his girlfriend played along with the joke, but she was way over the top. It was hilarious, but my companion was so mad and wouldn’t talk to anyone the rest of the day. He got over it and realized it was a joke and everything is cool now, but his girlfriend is probably going to get a mean letter – Ha!

Weirdest meal of the week: Rocky mountain chicken sandwiches….. Rocky Mountain is all you need to know.

At the devotional yesterday, my companion and I got picked to be ushers and so we got front row seats saved for us. It was a really great meeting. A member of the Seventy came and spoke about the prayers around the world for missionaries.

That is so awesome to hear that Jeff Flores’ dad was baptized! I taught him once when I went on splits with the missionaries. I guess I could call that the first baptism of my mission?

Here is my spiritual thought: I have really been studying the power of our voices. I have been called to preach the gospel. Not just hand out Book’s of Mormon and pamphlets. I actually need to talk to people. We can look at the example of Christ regarding how powerful our voices can be. When he was on the ship in the middle of the storm and his disciples were overcome with fear, hE stood up and said “Peace, be still” then the storm was calmed. We can see many times in the scriptures how God wants us to TALK with him. Joseph Smith was not attacked by Satan when he read James 1:5 or when he believed in God. We read he was attacked when he vocally prayed. He even says Satan tried to bind his tongue so that he could not speak. Our voices can bring the power of the spirit and Nephi tells us in 2 Nephi 33:1 that speaking is more powerful than writing. I am excited to preach to the people of Chile and I know that Christ lives. I know that through his atonement we can have true eternal peace in our lives. I love you all and am so grateful for all of your prayers. Mom and Dad, thank you so much for your support and letters. I love you guys so much. ADIOS!

Leave a Reply

