Max’s 9/12/12 MTC Update

Hola!

 

 

Hello family and friends! I miss you all so much! Thanks for all of the packages and letters! They really are so fun to open. I love all of the healthy food that you guys sent me. Send more power bars and crackers and whatever healthy snacks you find. My stomach will greatly appreciate them.

 

 My life is on fast forward right now. It is a really weird experience. I love it and I am having so much fun. I am glad to hear that Woodbridge football is doing well! I am happy for Nic and hope he plays well and works hard. I heard you guys were watching the BYU game! I can hear the crowd and music and the Cougar growl thing as I walk around the MTC. It is torturous! I hear that they are doing well, which is awesome!

 

 Thanks mom for the shorts you sent. Dean Hare sent me a really awesome letter. Thank you so much! I have read that letter many times. It has a lot of great insights in it.

 

 This last week my Spanish has really gotten better. We are learning how to say more things than just “bien” when somebody asks how we are doing. My new favorite thing to say is “viviendo el seuno”. It means living the dream! All of the teachers think it’s funny.

 

 It has been raining a little bit everyday, which is awesome! It is so entertaining for us missionaries to look out the window and watch the rain and lightening. Our classroom is on the top floor of the tallest building, which means we have an awesome view of the valley and the mountains. It also means we have to walk up over a hundred stairs seven times a day…. It is worth it though to have the view. A couple of days ago, there was a storm during the day and in the evening as it passed through it made the sky really spectacular. Our teacher took us to this really big window and we talked in Spanish trying to explain what was going on outside. There was a double rainbow crossing over the mountains. The scenery from the window was amazing.

 

 My friend’s brother is a zone resource teacher on my floor and one day he came in and taught us how he kept notes on his mission. He gave us some awesome ideas and I am implementing them. He encouraged us to keep a study journal with different tabs and sections for different subjects.

 

Also, we recently got into tie trading! I traded a bunch of ties and got some really cool ones. I will send pictures of my new ones. Lauren, don’t worry! I did not trade any of yoursJ. I told everyone they were untradeable, even though everyone wants them!

 

 More people that I know arrived at the MTC last Wednesday: Bryce, Kevo Wallace and Adam Lister. Taylor Lythgoe left a couple days ago for Chile! I will send a picture of the two of us. Our district originally consisted of 12 elders, 4 going to El Salvador and 8 going to Chile. The 4 going to El Salvador left yesterday for the Guatemalan MTC! It was sad and amazing how close we bonded in such a short time! They were all awesome guys!

 

Recently, we sat next to this teacher from Mexico at lunch. He is a native Spanish speaker and he asked us where we were going. We told him Chile and he started laughing. He said that even though he is a native Spanish speaker, he can’t understand the Chileans because they speak so fast and use a lot of slang. We are all freaked out now.

Finally, I want you guys to share with me your favorite scriptures! Spiritual thought: We watched an amazing talk from Elder Holland. It was a recording from a talk he had given at the MTC a while ago. He talked about how much he loved his mission. He was really emotional. He really emphasized that it was going to be hard, but that we dare not think of giving up. He said “Welcome to the real world, welcome to the church, welcome to the gospel, welcome to the life of the Savior with cups that people don’t want to drink and paths people don’t want to walk. It is not going to be a piece of cake, but don’t you dare ever think of giving up.” We can relate this to our lives in so many ways. As harsh as it is, it is true. It fired me up and I want to be the best missionary I can be because I love Jesus and I want to do everything I can to help others come unto him. He did so much for us and suffered so much so that we can be happy. We just need to reach out and grab his hand.

 

 I love you all and miss you. Love, Max

Leave a Reply

